High Street Makeup Haul

Here’s post number two, comin’ right attcha!

I think a lot of people will know what I mean when I talk about the shopping itch. It’s something that happens once the thrill of your latest purchases wears off, and you suddenly have this overwhelming feeling that you hate everything you own because it is so old and out of fashion and you must look like you just stepped out of 1985… or something. I get this feeling fairly regularly, and although I fight it as best I can, the urge to go out and spend sometimes (*cough* always *cough*) overwhelms me.

Which is why I take the practical step of avoiding high-end retailers at these times, and instead head for the good ol’ British high street to satisfy my shopping cravings.

This week, I picked up a couple of makeup bits to try, read my thoughts and first impressions below.

The first item(s) are two of the Bourjois Colour Boost lip crayons, in the colours 05 Red Island and 06 Plum Russian:

1717 1718

I’m a ha-uge fan of the Clinique Chubby Sticks, so I’m always on the lookout for cheaper alternatives. I like these lip products, and I’d say they’re a reasonable dupe for the chubby sticks. They are nice and smooth to wear, a bit more glossy than the chubby sticks and have a reasonable colour pay-off. For me, the colours I chose are what’s stopping me from wearing the product more, the red has more blues undertones that just don’t suit me that much, and the purple isn’t that suitable for work, so I haven’t found myself reaching for these as much as I’d hoped. They’re £7.99 each, which is cheaper than the chubby sticks, but still adds up if you’re buying more than one. I think I’d like to step out of my comfort zone and try the orange punch colour to see how it goes!

Next up is the Ever After Matte Palette and the eXtreme Volume Mascara, both from MUA:

1719 1720

To be honest, these products are both pretty disappointing. But for £4.00 and £2.00, what was I really expecting? I was drawn to the palette because it really does have a lovely assortment of everyday nudes with no shimmer, which I thought would be great for a neutral work look. Unfortunately, the pigmentation isn’t great. I intended to include swatches in this post, but the shadows barely showed up on my arm. The darker colours have a bit more colour pay-off, and the black could make a nice alternative to black liner. The mascara is, frankly, appalling – it’s so dry that barely any product actually transfers to the lashes. And since I love big, plumped up lashes, it wasn’t for me. I think both of these products might be great if you were looking for makeup for school, as they both have a very subtle effect. And they’re so cheap, it would be an affordable way to start experimenting with makeup, so although they weren’t for me, they might be great for someone out there!

Speaking of lashes… next up comes the Eylure Naturalites Evening Wear 107 Lashes:

1723

There were actually two pairs in this pack (I couldn’t restrain myself from trying them), which for just over £5.00 is an absolute steal. These lashes are a bit more full on than anything I normally wear, so I was a little bit daunted by them. They were easy to apply, and lasted all night. I trimmed the edges to fit my eye, and I think they looked pretty darn good! Voluminous and thick, definitely the thing for a dramatic evening look!

Lastly comes the Kiss 100 Full Cover Active Oval Nails:

1722

I am a serial nail biter, and have been pretty much all my life. It’s a hard habit to break, and I love using fake nails to give me longer looking nails. These nails in particular are my new favourites – they have an oval shape which saves me a lot of time filing and shaping the regular square shape which just isn’t my style. They’re also super thin, so look and feel a lot more natural, and are far more comfortable to wear. I did find they didn’t stick to my nails as easily as the thicker variety, but I was willing to spend a bit longer on the application process for the effect they gave. They set me back £6.49, which will ensure many weeks of nice looking nails that I don’t have to spend on a professional set costing 30 quid. Win all round!

So that’s the results of my high street splurge, let me know what your favourite drug store products are, and what you think of the products I’ve mentioned here!

Zoe xxx

Leave a Reply

